Wear a Saree Contemporary style

‘A woman looks most elegant in a saree’
Yes! But whenever I think of a saree, I feel like people might mistake me for going for an Indian wedding! And even if I’m going for a wedding, I want to look sassy in a saree, not traditional like everyone else 😦
Occasions like a theme party, friend’s fun Cocktail/Sangeet ceremony, school/ college farewell, fashionable friend’s wedding or even an office party are times when you would love to dawn a saree but definitely not the traditional way!
Except Satya Paul who brought contemporary sarees into the Indian market I can barely think of places where I would find unconventional sarees. Also, do I really want to spend so much buying a saree?
Ladies just pull out your old printed sarees or your mothers silk, crepe & georgette sarees! Because The Style Chair shall show you How to wear the Saree contemporary style πŸ˜‰
The best way to look unconventional in a saree is by teaming it up with unique crop tops! (especially before the crop top trend fades away)
  • Graphic print crop tops with a plain colored saree Or
  • A contrasting coloured crop top with a printed saree.
  • Quirky print, Polka doted/striped crop trop, lace crop tops are good choices to give the saree that modern twist.
  • If you like it jazzy then sequined or metallic crop top looks fabulous with a plain coloured saree.
For a day look I teamed my floral crop top with this ultra chic lace saree! Accessories were all in tune accordingly πŸ™‚
And on the eve of Republic day I wore this Indigo Ikat border saree with my striped crop top! (You’ve seen me wear this earlier in my post, It also kept me quite warm on a wintery night)
Doesn’t it look fab?
Accessories (from Aquamarine) were also kept far from traditional πŸ˜€ Specially loved this quirky colour block clutch bag from Pink Jalebi.Β What especially added that modern touch to my saree look was my top knot!
You can even make your saree look unique by draping it differently! Last diwali I draped my saree in the dhoti style for that unique look πŸ˜‰
Hope you liked the post & for any queries feel free to mail in at- thstylechair@gmail.com
Stay updated with me through Twitter- @miss_chopchop
Instagram- @misschopchop
Be Yourself & Shine On ❀

 

10 thoughts on “Wear a Saree Contemporary style

  1. Pingback: A complete Guide on HOW TO Dress for Indian Weddings – TheStyleChair

Leave a comment